A year old

If you happen to ask my age tomorrow and i say i am one year old do not be shocked. My new identity of that an active twitter(my 868 followers will swear by the word ACTIVE) has turned a new leaf. I am one year old on Twitter. Phew, i feel old.
Aagan86 is what i am known as on twitter. Now a days i find it hard to respond when someone calls me Agnivo because i am so used to be called as Aagan. (Thank you Arsalan for that brilliant name,i miss you).
Twitter, as i said before and wish to reiterate, has changed my life. On May 5 2009 when i joined twitter i was not expectant of this kind of a relationship. I was a dedicated orkutiya then. Aneesha had told me about the site, and i was curious. I was also keen on following Rajeev Masand and he is another reason why i joined twitter. but after joining there had been a long gap of about 6 months before i actually started tweeting.
I think one reason why i got hooked on to tweeting was my disillusionment with my career. I had started hating my subject( may be because i did not like the topics taught in the 3rd semester) and i was finding it difficult to exist in the class (i know it is hard hitting but sadly its true; no it was not a Presi hangover). I found myself really alone and needed someone to talk to. And sadly Bham did not always return my sms like old days(obviously i know he has a life and was busy in it, but i really missed his replies😦 ). So i found this medium where i could go on ranting and everyone who followed me would listen!
Twitter gave me new friends. In the beginning i used to follow only celebs. And found new followers through a  Orkut community called You Follow I follow on Twitter! And through mutual followers i came across 4 great people whose tweets are really worth zillions AdityaShaktiZoooni and Neha . Not to forget Siddharth and Bedit. It was Aditya who inspired me to start blogging again. And look, i am improving everyday (i have even posted a few poems…..who would have imagined i can write poems too). I used to have a great time chatting,sharing and tweeting. Specially Aditya’s RT freak😛 Shakti’s office blues, Neha’s colleague gossip, zooni’s competition fervour, Sid’s links and Bedit’s tiny url🙂 I would sit in front of the computer the whole day and just keep RTing good tweets🙂 From about 5 tweets in the beginning of October i grew to 2500 tweets at the end of November! And do you remember after 14th November concert of Rahman sir in Kolkata i had spent one whole week tweeting about nothing but Him Him and Him. Twitter was not just about fun. We had serious discussions here too. On 26 November 2009 we paid our tributes to the martyrs of Mumbai attack in our own style with a hash tag called “Tweet4india” (coined by Zooni). After any tragedy you can see a flurry of activity on twitter with people tweeting about emergency numbers and help lines, blood bank details etc.
It was here i met another great person. A true intellectual. He knows a lot. Knows how to use his words and a great person to talk to. Subhr0. He has taught me one valuable thing. Reminded me rather. To write well you should be well read. It was his influence that made me start reading more. There were other persons too with whom i had developed a good camaraderie on twitter. Like Somesh, Stephen, Dany, Kedar, Bhumish, Tina, Vishal, Raghu, Arindam and many others (sorry for not being able to mention all).
January is the month which brought about a big change in my style of tweeting. From the RT guy i became more of a tweeting guy. I started voicing myself more confidently and vociferously. And i participated in hashtags too. With elan. “Rang Chaddi Da” for example. Following face book’s footsteps we decided to start a campaign for awareness of prostate cancer (simply by tweeting color of our underwear ;)) I really can never forget that night! Till 4am we toiled to make it a trending topic. Gaurav(dr micky), Amol, YasshwantGaurav(i wanna quit my job) and Kedar were active participants. All of them super tweeps themselves and my friends too🙂 Oh how i wish i had archived those tweets!!! Sigh…..
Towards the end of January i came across the man whose companionship i will treasure all life! Ashik. We began our twitter-comradeship with a discussion on Pakistan,our discussion ran for about a week. We did not agree with each other’s viewpoints. But we became friends. What a healthy debate we had! It’s always fun talking to him. From serious political issues to trivial fun (Japanese oil for example) he is game for everything. He is one man worth following and drawing inspiration from.
Also not to forget the band of boys (or i should say the Band Baja gang / confused vellas) who also make my timeline lively. Aditya, Abhisek, Tathagata, Abhishek, Bibhu, Pritam, Anwar. It is always fun talking to these guys and whiling the time when you are feeling bored. Ah and then there is Parmesh Rudra, another fun guy, a passionate singer, a brother for me J And Sanjukta and Arka. I really feel so glad to have such nice bhai’s and Bon’s on twitter J I am really blessed.
Another guy who deeply influenced my twitter stay was Dibya. He and i have difference of opinion on every single issue! And we keep debating with each other various happenings every other day (it started with that late night sms debate on Women’s reservation Bill). In fact he just sms’ed me to mention him especially because today is his one year anniversary and that inspired me to write this blog (finally).
Also how can i not mention the Twestival. First one in Kolkata! The Google group discussions, a tweetup at Sector V and the final event. Befriended many nice people after the event. Anirban, Bivas, Sourav, Aritra to name a few.
I am really grateful to twitter for giving me a platform. A group of friends and followers who make my life complete. I have left my mark on this site and those who follow me know i don’t follow any rules! I tweet what i want to. Twitter has made me a trend! #tweetslikeaagan86 is a hit (thank you Bibhu for that). Why even celebrities talk to me regularly(or whenever i ask them something). A renowned film director follows me! What more can i ask for? J My tweets can become my autobiography some day. But that one question will always bother me: who will tweet I am dead?
P.S. I should thank Sumana di, Sudhir, Srikanth, Souvick, The Humerus, Abhijit Da, Aditya (im_adi), PunitMaulik for being such nice followers J I really enjoy your tweets. Love you all.

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on May 29, 2010, in Personal Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Nice.. you could have mentioned more hashtags yaar.. #oneIndia, #mumbaiForAll etc remember?? All in all nice experience.. i'll write mine aswell…in a few weeks.. good work!

    Like

  2. lost_scotoma

    Awesome yaar! One year notch! Congrats! Loved this piece and thanks for mentioning me… feels great! One thing is for sure, you are here to stay on Twitter for long…and rock as well.As for your final question: "Who will tweet I am dead?" …..well, if you memory serves you well, I've already answered that question on your timeline itself… and for others, the answer still is "The Devil, for following him for so long!!" :PKeep writing!

    Like

  3. hahahahaha thanx for the comments both of you :)@pritam i didnt mention mumbai for all because it was hi jacked by srk fans to promote MNIK. as for oneindia i really forgot about it😛 @shakti all i can say is LOLzzz😛

    Like

  4. thanks 4 mentioning me 2 dude..🙂

    Like

  5. tht was simply awesome buddy! thnx 4mentioning me!! i feel priviledged to hv a frnd lyk u !! u \m/

    Like

  6. Some one you might know

    #blogslikeAgnivo ? something to chew upon for the man at the helm of anything and everything. But look what you have mentioned so poignantly is how easy it is to create an identity for ourselves, if we are just honest. Yeah that is a true novelty to follow you on Twitter, your honesty is basically what we all Identify @Aagan86 with. Keep it up is all I can say!

    Like

  7. Parmesh Rudra Joshi

    This Post Is About What Ideal Idea Of Social Networking Is. How If Used Properly It Can Connect You To Unknown Wonders Of Mind, Matters And Heart. Hugs For Mention Bhai🙂

    Like

  8. Superb !! Very Nicely Wrote.. N thankie for mentioning me !! :)) Simply you have led out a Charismatic Story !! Gud Work . .

    Like

  9. Subham Dasgupta

    great writing and nostalgic too…but of course u forgot to mention 1 tiny little thing…how ur tweets bug people who r not into twitter eg: ur friends in FB. u also forgot to mention diyadi's complement on ur tweet news. and the accusation of my sms is completely justified…i dont sms like before because at that point of time, u never smsed like before…wot wud i reply about things like "ph ke katukutu dilam", twitter e ei lokta ae bollo", "orkute aj e ae korlo"..etc etc etc…u had forgotten about smsing like before!

    Like

  10. Subham Dasgupta

    TO ALL OF AAGAN86'S REGULAR TWIMATES…qudos to ur twitter friendship and great companionship.🙂 am really happy about my friend's new genre of friends🙂

    Like

  11. Bedit Banerjee

    Congrats on your twirthday !! It was so nice of you to mention about me & I must say that I adore your tweets.Keep tweeting, Agnivo.

    Like

  12. Subham Dasgupta

    and agni…this is wot u call ur "sesky" look…not the one u adorn at present, which is nothing short of disgustingly horrible

    Like

  13. Lets Play Ringa Ringa Rozes…..All Life…..Pakistan Ki Kasam……Don wanna say anything, neither wanna thnQ U for mention….Chal Hatt

    Like

  14. Bhai iss dibbewale bhai k taraf se ek chumma, bhai wala…..😉 Tweeto nahao Tweeto falo….Dil to tune usi din jeet lia tha jisdin tujhe mai follow kia tha, aaj tune mera pura body jeet lia… Plzz ulta pulta mat sochna…. ;-P

    Like

  15. am tui onek porer kotha bolchis!!! ami onek ager kotha bolchi!!! jakge seta chhaar!

    Like

  16. Nice blog.. honored to see my name in your blog. And yeah I m too feeling like writing a blog about twitter.. then it will bcome #bloglikeAagan86😛 .. Yeah ofcourse you are one of the most active tweep I follow. Keep tweeting..And ur twitter account could become ur autobiography😛 … nicely written and well said .. PS : Do twitter gives u commision on this??? Do ask them bcoz this blog will motivate many people to join it😛😛

    Like

  17. madscribbler

    ah that is nice. I have to pick some tweeps from this blog seem to be good. good luck happy tweeting.

    Like

  18. Same thing irritating me : Meri death ko kaun tweet karega?? :oBtw, super mast likha hai dost, jaise mere mooh ki baatein chhin li ;)Me bhi aise hi sochta tha, lekin kabhi kagaz pe utar nahi saka!🙂

    Like

  19. Hey Thanks for mentioning me. Really nice post. Helped me 2 write one on similar lines.

    Like

  20. great to have you too on twitter🙂 and thanks for mentioning!btw I have also enjoyed my 1yr + life on twitter!

    Like

  21. Aditya Nandode

    Thank you for remembering me! ;p On serious note, that last question is something I am wondering too, that's one reason i have shared all my login names and passwords with one another person! Hope-that works out well!

    Like

  22. im_adi🙂 REAL ADI ! all others are fake😉 btw thanks for mentioning my name🙂

    Like

  23. Mast likha hai yaar. Thanks for mentioning me.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

