A final good bye

A journey began 15 months ago. Slowly the journey became my song of life. Reaching out to the masses it was, but i chose to ignore the protocols. A true social networking site, which helped me grow as a person, helped me rediscover myself, gave me an identity, a voice which i will never part with.

Twitter knows me as Aagan86. Since 5 May 2009 i have slowly built up a brand. I have voiced my opinions on everything under the sun, with elan, and over the time evolved with the ideas that shape my life now. I had a share of flips too. Slammed a “terrorist”, “traitor”, and very recently “paid tweeter” for not conforming to hardliners’ ideologies. But i took them in my stride and chose to do what i do best. Tweet.

I think this is my third post about my twitter life. Hence it would be pointless to reiterate what i have already said before. You can read them herehere.

Twitter has made me much more confident than i was even a year ago. It helped me brush up my literary skills. Twitter inspired me to start rewriting my blog. Twitter gave me the audience that i always wanted. Fun, serious discussions, “jhagra” it was all here. Twitter was the place to be.

I joined twitter when i felt lonely in a crowd in my class, and today i wave my final good bye to twitter for the same reason. Rampant chatter,copy-pasted quotes, “witty” lines that border on being obnoxious, news feeds, mud slinging, celebrity worship and pseudo intellectual pursuits represent twitter today. A medium with a huge potential has become hostage to mediocrity. (I dont claim to be a Tagore on twitter, #tweetslikeaagan86 was just my brand, i did have a great influence on people in my own small way).

I have followed more than 500 people during these months on twitter and gained over 1000 followers (not sure how many are real) but the people i interacted with were handful and i cherish every fun time i spent with them. My earliest friends here Aditya, Shakti, Neha, Siddharth, Stephen, Mohak have been the ones who have followed me from day 1 of my “active” tweeting. Followed by BeditFurhanAmol, Subhro, Somesh, PritamTina, Maulik, Sourav da, YasshwantBhumishGaurav, Anirban, Souvick, Sumanadi, Punit, Dibya, Bibhu, Abhishek, Abhisek, Aditya, NaveenTathagata, Arka, Prerna, SanjuktaNitin, Sudhir, Saikat. And how can i forget Anwar, whose hospitality i enjoyed when i went to Gurgaon for an interview. There are several other tweeters who had become inactive over the last couple of months whom i miss a lot on my timeline.

The post would be incomplete if i did not mention two special persons. Ashik and Rudra. They both are very special.

In the end i would like to thank these people who i had just started interacting with and could have blossomed into a great friendship : Manoj, Chandan, Nirav, DebsuvraNabeel. I will definitely keep in touch with you all on direct messages and facebook🙂

I also like to thank people like Kishore Joshi, Abhijit Dasgupta, Sheskhar Kapur, Taslima Nasreen, C G Balu who enriched my treasures of knowledge with their tweets.

In the end, two lines by Tagore which i like to quote :

Sesh Nahi Je, Sesh Kotha k bolbe?

(End is an illusion, for nobody stays to say good bye).

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 9, 2010, in Personal Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. WHY LEAVE A PLACE WHICH GAVE U A NEW CONFIDENCE ??? IT HAPPENS TO EVERYONE , TWITTER SOMETIMES DOES SUCK !! BUT THAT DOESN’T MEAN U WILL RUN AWAY FROM IT !!TAKE A BREAK FROM TWITTER , TRY SOMETHING NEW & COME BACK , U WILL FIND YOUR OLD TWITTER BACK AGAIN .. TWITTER WILL MISS A NICE HUMAN BEING IF U GO AWAY !

    Like

  2. Bhai, come on..#KehDiKiYehJhoothHai.
    Ashik went, Rudra went, without saying goodbye and now you say you are gonna leave (goodbye or no goodbye-leaving is just the way).
    Why are you people so admant on leaving? What is the problem? This is not done and simply unacceptable.

    Like

  3. That’s so sweet of you🙂 as of now its end of season 1. Aagan86 will not come back! Like i have been saying, i feel lost in twitter now a days and feel out of place there🙂

    Like

  4. What the f is going on here? Ashik, Rudra and now you! When I used to say I hate your headless #tweetslikeaagan86, I was true to some extent, I admit but I never never never ever want you to leave! Get that straight! Its good to have ‘new’ friends but even you know, OLD IS GOLD. You’re one of my best friend at twitter and I don’t want you to go! Stop acting like a child. Be there, we all need you there! And yes, I won’t say it again!

    Like

  5. @vandiablo yeah i know.you are one of my oldest friends on twitter, and why would i be acting like a child?🙂 #tweetslikeaagan86 is my brand and i am proud of it😛 i will be there on facebook🙂 and occasional DMs too🙂

    Like

  6. Ye kya bhai? Ab main waapas aaya to aap jaa rahe ho??? :((((((((((( I’m rearry CRYING!!!!!!!!

    Like

  7. If you leave,i’ll be gone again…. And this time,surely FOREVER!!!!!

    Like

  8. am also quitting then… fir milenge kabhi, kuch mahine ya saal ya janam ke baad…😦

    Like

  9. This Is A New Beginning. Bhai Agnivo Niyogi Needs You (Aagan86) More Than Twitter……!
    @All Just A Few Months. Season Two Gonna Surprise The Wit And Tweet Out Of You. Hold Your TL Dearies.🙂

    Like

  10. “end is an illusion…for no body stays to say good bye..”.Aaagan very touching…but still the twitter medium used to say big things in a small but steady way, is well ‘awesome’..I am proud that my little efforts to stay connected with the world is acknowledged by a young and promising lad..and feel that I am something..okay good luck. Keep sending me your writings. I will try to read them and put my little… okay ‘tweet’

    Like

  11. oye yeh kya hai..? I was not expecting this kind of Blog here.. wat ever may be the reason we all loved all ur witty comments , humors , straight forward gigs etc. Hope to see ya soon back with your #tweetslikeaagan86™ tweets in my TL..

    Like

  12. Yes, It has been a journey, long in sense & knowledge, but short in terms of time. And time these days is keeping me off twitter too! Hope u donot delete ur account!

    Like

  13. Twitter will miss U. As I’ve already said “Nobody can replace U”.
    When I’ve seen Ur last tweet “end of session 1”. I hope U’ll come back. Hope, its not an endless hope.
    I can’t understand FB, will try to come there.
    Thanks 4 adding me on ur friends list.
    Sorry 4 late reply.
    Bye 4 now. Waiting 4 session 2.

    Like

  14. WTH! U said goodbye to the world and not me! (U din’t share the link of this post)😦 This is not fair.😛 I hope u ll comeback soon, I will miss discussing (debating?) issues with you. Series of state elections coming, you know.😛😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

