30 Days Blogging Challenge – Day 1: Your Blog Name

30 Days Blogging Challenge

It’s been more than 6 years that I own a blog. The journey started with Blogger and slowly moved base to WordPress. During the journey, the blog’s name too underwent several changes, but the idea remained constant.

May 2008 – One hot Summer afternoon in Jalpaiguri, I decided enough was enough. I had just completed my Graduation and was irritatingly bored at home because our TV was out-of-order. To while away the time, I decided to visit a cyber cafe nearby and there it all began. The blog had a silly name – Aagan Speaks – just like a chatroom username!

My first post was on the apocalyptic lightning that struck Jalpaiguri the previous night, sending most electronic instruments to disrepair. This was followed by a rant against the GJMM and their hooliganism in North Bengal, followed by a long break.

December 2009 – Avatar had just released in 3D and the whole world was going gaga about the amazing experience. How could I be left behind. Thus began the second phase of my blogging journey, with a review of the movie. Encouraged by Shakti and Aditya on Twitter, I kept writing as my skills improved and blogging became a passion. My good Twitter friend Somesh even lent me his WordPress domain Xpresso.in to blog.

July 2010 – By now my post-graduation was complete and the only means of whiling the time away for me was Tweeting and Blogging. I was hardcore into writing and wanted to pursue social media content writing as my career! The boost came in the form of a coverage in India Today, thanks to Abhijit Da…. There was no looking back!

August 2010 – First relationship, that too long-distance. The travails of it! The poet in me was born…. soon to be consumed by the scorned lover!

March 2011 – The political pitch was heating up in Bengal, and so was my blog…. The State Assembly elections in a way changed the way I wrote. Political commentary assumed the driver’s role…

August 2011 – A three-month sabbatical after quitting my PhD drove me mad and in a fit of rage one evening I deleted by blog (I had a backup of the posts, though). I repented my decision a few days later and thus Antorjatik Bangali came into being.

Why Antorjatik Bangali?

When I am asked to introduce myself at any event or public gathering, I always introduce myself as a Bengali first and then an Indian. However my love for Bengal does not make me parochial. I carry within me the essence of Tagore’s lofty ideal of internationalism, transcending boundaries, while being grounded to my roots. My blog is just an expression of a Bengali (you can call me aantel) on matters that do or do not concern the average man on the streets of the State. Like a typical “intellectual”, I write on books, films, poetry, politics and social issues. And occasionally about food. That justifies the name!

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 9, 2014, in Personal Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Aditya Nandode @TaiyouSun

    Aahh! Just the thought of writing again excites me; alas brain is being consumed by job; but it still feels good that you are still at it!🙂

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on I liked reading these blogs. and commented:
    I have been watching this Bengali lad for a long time. He has got stuff.

    Like

  3. keep going…the challenge subjects are interesting🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

