30 Days Blogging Challenge – Day 4: My Dream Job

30 Days Blogging Challenge

What is a dream job? The one you dream about or the one in which you sit at office and day-dream? I certainly feel there can never be a dream job that remains constant from childhood till death. At every stage of life, a person undergoes a reform of thoughts, passion and interests, thus developing new dreams for the long run.

When I was a small kid in the primary school, I always wanted to be the Principal of my school when I grew up. That was the reach of my ambition back then. As I grew up and eventually migrated out of my native town, my horizons widened. Newer avenues opened up. The ‘tashan’ in the medical profession interested me! Soon I realised the hard work was not my cup of tea.

As I entered the hallowed portals of Presidency College and interacted with teachers/seniors on future career, the prospect of doctoral studies in the United States was my ‘El Dorado’. I would not lie. I really love Biology and Neurobiology still excites me (I am still subscribed to many medical journals).

But after I stepped into post-graduation, I realised what a colossal mistake my decision was. I was not ready to make a commitment to the profession of research, because I simply lacked the motivation and the patience for it. Devoting 5 (at least) years of life in pursuance of the mythical golden deer was not a prospect I was looking forward too.

And by now, my other passion – writing and interest in politics – had taken a centre-stage in my life. Thanks to my blog. On 13 May 2011, West Bengal got rid of the 34-year-old ramshackle government run by self-serving individuals who called themselves the Left. On 15 May 2011, I got rid of my bondage of PhD. I was ready for my dream job in online journalism.

After 2 years, I finally found myself a place in Tehelka in the web team. But that was not to last for long either. As a blessing in disguise, I returned to Kolkata with a new job – as the Editor of a web portal to promote Bengal – and that slowly delivered me my ‘dream job’.

For the last 10 months, I have been part of the web team of a major political party in India, even running the electoral campaign online for General Elections 2014. For someone who wanted to be a part of online journalism, is a fan of the current Chief Minister of West Bengal, and love to research on policy, what could have been a better platform?

Let’s see what the future has in store…..

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 12, 2014, in Personal Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

