30 Days Blogging Challenge – Day 6: My Biggest Fear

30 Days Blogging Challenge

The dictionary describes fear as “an unpleasant emotion caused by the threat of danger, pain, or harm.”

Biology describes fear as “an emotion induced by a threat perceived by living entities, which causes a change in brain and organ function and ultimately a change in behaviour, such as running away, hiding or freezing from traumatic events.”

When I sat down to write about my fears, the first thought that crossed my mind was darkness. It is another matter that over the past two nights I have been witnessing nightmares and have woke up at ungodly hours in the night, unable to sleep again in the dark. Fear of darkness (and ghosts) has been ingrained in me since birth. The spirits that be (God bless them) have often led to unpleasant situations in my life.

The fear of being left behind in the rat race has been an obsession since childhood. Only the first rank was acceptable to me, and anything pioneering had to have my involvement. Always.

I guess the fear of darkness can be related to the fear of the unknown. The inexplicable things in life are always forbidden and stories of ghosts spurn around them to prevent us from delving into the depths! Harry Potter’s Boggart (if you remember Prisoner of Azkaban) was a Dementor! Harry feared fear itself!

The fear of failure/rejection is a big impediment that I often encounter. The dilemma of futility is too heavy to bear at times. However, one has to keep moving on in life to succeed. So have I. I have no qualms in admitting (actually I do, and that is my other fear) that I have failed often, only to re-emerge from the ashes! Fear of public humiliation is one of the biggest reasons why I often do not open up (offline that is…. online I am possessed with the superpower of retaliation).

But above all, if I ever came face to face with a Boggart, it would most certainly take the shape of loneliness. Whether online or off the virtual world, companionship is what I seek solace in. That explains my possessiveness in case of my friends and my hasty interpretation of friendship as “something more than love” in a few cases!

What are your biggest fears?

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 14, 2014, in Personal Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

