30 Days Blogging Challenge – Day 9: What is in your bag

30 Days Blogging Challenge

“What is in your bag?” asked the officer at the airport. Beads of sweat had already gathered on my neck.

Nervously, I replied “Clothes, laptop and a few accessories.”

“Sir, you have to step out of the queue. We need to examine your bag and search you. This is part of routine procedure. Please cooperate.”

“My…. my flight is in less than an hour…. I will miss it…. I cannot afford another one. Please….”

The please fell on deaf ears. I was taken to a room full of officers, busy ‘examining’ other ‘suspects’ like me.

Forty five minutes and a lifetime-worth of humiliation later I, Mohd. Aquib Khan, was finally allowed to board my flight to Karachi from John F Kennedy International Airport. As I rushed through the boarding gate to learn that the flight had taken off….

My phone buzzed as I scrambled at the ATM counter at the airport to manage enough money for a later flight. Ammi had passed away. My name was the last word she spoke.

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 17, 2014, in Personal Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

