30 Days Blogging Challenge: Day 15 – Where will I be in 5 years

30 Days Blogging Challenge

One of the most dreaded questions one encounters at job interviews is undoubtedly “Where do you see yourself XYZ years from now?” For a person like me, who lives for the moment, it is even scarier, because you do not know where you will be 5 days from now… or for that matter 5 months.

The first time I encountered this question, I was warned by the HR coordinator to be ready with a default reply. Thankfully my qualification test scores were good, and my responses for most other interview questions were honest enough, to land me that job.

I faced this same dilemma after about one year, when I decided to shift base back to Kolkata. Where did I see myself few years down the line? What were the growth opportunities? Slowly, as I began working in the new establishment, things got clear, a direction for the future emerged. As I write this blog-entry, we are working over major plans for the next one year in my team.

Five years are a long time. I may not even be alive then to verify the success of my hunch about future. But then, that should not stop anyone from their share of crystal-gazing.

Here are my FIVE guesses on where I will be five years from now:

  1. I will still be in Kolkata (well, the question did ask WHERE)
  2. I will still be into journalism
  3. I would still be using Twitter (or any better version of it)
  4. I see bigger roles for myself in policy matters.
  5. As mentioned earlier, I may cease to exist altogether.

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 23, 2014, in Personal Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

