My favourite books – Facebook challenge

books

I have been asked by Jyothi Menon to list my 10 favourite books which have shaped me as a human being. So here goes:

  1. Mahabharat – Upendrakishore Roychowdhury

  2. Kheerer Putul – Abanindranath Tagore

  3. Aranyak/Chander Pahar – Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay

  4. Debi Chowdhurani – Bankim Chandra Chatterjee

  5. Kaalbela – Samaresh Majumder

  6. Sesher Kobita/Ghare Baire – Rabindranath Tagore

  7. Prothom Protisruti/Subarnalata/Bokul Kotha – Ashapurna Debi

  8. Aparajito – Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay

  9. Srikanto – Saratchandra Chattopadhyay

  10. First Person – Rituparno Ghosh

And no… I will NOT stop here… I have many more books to mention…

  1. Feluda Series – Satyajit Ray

  2. Sukumar Somogro – Sukumar Roy

  3. Puraner Golpo – Leela Majumder

  4. Fera – Taslima Nasreeen

  5. The Hungry Tide – Amitav Ghosh

It is futile to even try to list names of your favourite books. You mention one and you are reminded of another. However I tried to limit myself to 15 books. I have not mentioned several other writers like Narayan Sanyal, Nabarun Bhattacharya, Suchitra Bhattacharya, Tilottama Majumder and so many other stalwarts of Bengali literature. I have not even dared to mention books in languages other than Bangla…

I nominate Subham Daspgupta, Sumitash Jana, Yatin Gupta, Raka Majumdar, Madhurima Dhara for this challenge.

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on August 29, 2014, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

