Bengal Bypoll 2015 – TMC is here to stay

tmc vic

If you are a citizen of West Bengal and subscribe to the bestselling newspaper (both English and Bangla), you would by now have been convinced that Bengal was eagerly waiting for a chance to teach the “party of rogues” led by a “uneducated, foul-mouthed CM” a lesson. It was a matter of time, readers were constantly fed, before the mythological Saviour comes riding on a White Horse and sweeps Trinamool away, thus bringing ‘Good Times’ for Bengal (which rest of India is yet to witness in the last nine months).

Janata Janardan

In a democracy, people are supreme. They have the final say. After Bongaon MP Kapil Krishna Thakur and Krishnaganj MLA Sushil Biswas passed away last year, the political spectrum of Bengal had acquired new hues. The bypolls were being touted as acid test for Trinamool, which, as we were informed, was waiting to crumble like a pack of cards, and BJP, the saviour of Bengal, waiting to strike.

People have spoken and how! Not only has the janata janardan silenced the critics of Trinamool through the landslide victory, but the huge turnout for a mere bypoll, which usually sees turnout lower than the general election, is testimony to the fact that people have rejected the politics of hate practised by the Opposition in Bengal.

Numbers speak

Let us not get into political rhetoric. Numbers speak for themselves. As is clear from the charts attached below, Trinamool had held onto it’s voter base in both the constituencies. Any gain that BJP made was at the cost of CPM. Congress, as expected, lost its deposit.


Bongaon Stats

Bongaon bypoll results explained


Krishnaganj stats

Krishnaganj bypoll results explained


The Bongaon bypoll was interesting this time because a minister of the West Bengal Government, Manjul Krishna Thakur, had defected to the BJP weeks before the elections. His son, Subrata Thakur, was the BJP candidate. In today’s election, not only did BJP come third in Bongaon, but in Manjul Thakur’s Assembly segment Gaighata, TMC beat the BJP by a margin of 17000 votes. People clearly rejected politics of opportunism.

In Conclusion

All those had written off Mamata Banerjee and Trinamool, hold your horses. Dilli abhi dur hai… The lady is here to stay, at least til 2021, if not more…

About Agnivo Niyogi

Typical Aantel, reader, blogger, news addict, opinionated. Digital media enthusiast. Didi fanboi. Joy Bangla!

Posted on February 16, 2015, in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: